Trouble with canon L lens...

Discussion in 'Canon EOS' started by tomas_roges, Nov 18, 2011.

1. Hi, so I'm new to Canons L series and I've just rented one out of necessity because another lens of mine is being fixed. I'm using the 24mm f1.4 II on my 7D. My problem is that I have it stopped wide open and my images are turning out really dark. The only time I can really see anything is when I bump the ISO pretty high. I'm used to using lenses with a wide aperture, my other two being a 1.4 and a 1.8, and I've never had this issue. Any ideas?

2. Without seeing an example, it would be rather difficult to say.

3. Hmm. I'm still fooling with it. I have plenty of light as well but
    even wide open it's coming up dark. I can't post anything
    now since I don't have the means to at the moment. What
    are some ideas just so I can just try some things.

4. Wait for a bright, sunny day. Go out at noon. Set your ISO to 100, your shutter speed to 1/400 sec, and your aperture to f/8. Take a picture. It should be exposed approximately correctly.
    Do your pictures just appear really dark on the LCD screen on the back of the camera, even though they appear normal on the computer? If so, your LCD brightness might be turned down. Somewhere in your menu system is the means to turn it back up.

5. Spearhead

Spearhead Moderator

I can't post anything now since I don't have the means to at the moment.​
    All you have to do is upload to your computer from your camera and then you can post. It's really quite simple.

6. Have you checked the exposure compensation on your camera? What are the shutter speed, aperture, and lighting conditions?

7. It's definitely not the LCD. I made sure of that and even with
    it turned all the way down, it's still appeared lighter than the
    images I've taken. I'll just have to wait till the morning to get
    it out into some day light to fool with it. I've basically done
    everything that I could think of. I can plug my 50mm 1.4 in