Trouble changing focus points on D600

maryann_miles

<p>This is embarrassing!! I am a pro, I really am, but I can't learn from a book. I can change the number of focus points on my D600, but I only see one thru the lens! And I can't control where it goes like I could (easily!) on the D300. What am I doing wrong? </p>

<p>Maryann, Sorry but I burst out laughing about changing the time & date on your camera. <br /><br />Wish I could help, but I still have my pair of D300 and I am still learning things about them. Years later and I still have focus problems with them at times. That was after finding out the bodies and lens had issues. Now I don't know if it is me, or my eyes, or the camera and lens again :-(<br />I just got back from doing family beach portraits and wondering why some of my images are out of focus. Ex: Camera on tripod, family sitting on a log for each shot, same distance, settings not changed, but some images come out soft. No wonder my bald spot is growing.</p>

<p>Hi Maryann. If you have a single focus point selected, you should just be able to move it using the joystick on the back of the camera. If you have area focus, the camera does the selecting for you, which might be why you're having trouble? As for what you can see, the camera shows you the position of the current point, not the total number available to you - except in area focus, where it will show you everything that it thinks is in focus.<br />

<br />

The clock is under the set-up menu (spanner icon after you press "menu"), and scroll to "Date and time". Press ok, then you should be able to select menu options, poke ok for the one you want, and use the joystick controller to change things - and change what you're changing. P.253 of the manual, if learning from one page is an option. Good luck.</p>