Tripod upgrade question and recommendations?

stsadasdsad

I have a Promaster XC522 tripod (max load: ~11 lbs) that I love using and traveling with, since it’s light but sturdy and collapses really well.

Every once in a while, the head sags a bit under the weight of my camera and lens, so I have been thinking of upgrading the ball head to one that supports more weight. I haven’t had any issues with the legs and weight so far—it always feels secure.

Question #1: Is it accurate that upgrading just the ball head will help the occasional sage? (as opposed to necessarily having to upgrade the entire tripod body)

That said, I’ve also been thinking of getting an iOptron Sky Tracker Pro for astrophotography, in which case I probably would need a new tripod with both a strong head and a strong base.

Question #2: If I did get a second more heavy-duty tripod, would I be able to take the ball head off that and use on my Promaster for travel and more casual use as long as the second ball head is Arca-Swiss compatible? (my Promaster is Arca Swiss compatible)

Finally, here’s the weight in play:

Nikon D7500 w/ battery: 1.6 lbs

Lens range 1.2 - 4.43 lbs

iOptron Sky Tracker Pro Camera Mount with Polar Scope: 6.6 lbs

iOptron Counterweight Package: 2.97 lbs

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

16 lbs minimum

Question #3: Any recommendations for a good, sturdy tripod around $100 or so that would cover at the very least 16 lbs but in reality would support more weight in case I were to upgrade to a full frame camera with full frame lenses?

Thanks for your help!

Shop used. I looked online, found lots of triopds and heads for sale. I looked up the various models' features, got an excellent near mint Manfrotto and head for a fraction of retail price. Got a Manfrotto Monopod and head the same way, an even better deal. Either will handle my heaviest camera / lens combination with ease.
  • Like 1