Tripod advise

h_._jm

<p>Dear pros and hobbyists;<br>

I am a Canon shooter; I am a hobbyist.<br>

I don't have a proper tripod. I am planning a trip to Europe soon that is short: only 2 weeks. <br>

I will be taking my Canon 6D camera; 24-105L lens and very likely my wide angle 17-40L. I want minimum weight. I know a tripod will be very handy esp for night photos and photos of me and wife together.<br>

I have a budget that is small $100; +/- 50<br>

I want a recommendation for a good tripod. I can borrow my brother in laws tripod its very average like a $10 tripod from ebay; but I love how it's light and only 400 grams.<br>

If I can get a recommendation for a light tripod similar to that would be awesome.</p>

<p>Best Regards<br>

Peter</p>

<p>Carbon fiber are lighter but more expensive. Not sure you really will need a tripod. I use a Feisol table top tripod or Leica table top tripod with a Leica or small Really Right Stuff ballhead. You can usually find a spot to put these which will frame a good shot. Tripods tend to be a pain to carry and are not allowed in many European buildings unless you want to pay. In some places (Italian churches, Westminster Abbey) I don't think they are generally allowed. On the street in urban areas they are liable to be a nuisance by impeding foot traffic. If you are car based and looking at them from a landscape perspective then this is a better use for them in my opinion. I would check out Gitzo (Traveller series), Mefoto, Feisol, Induro, Benro, Sirui (there are others...). Check out the height you want and the price and how small you want them to fold up to, and take it from there. There are almost more tripods than there are people. The trouble with most travel tripods from my perspective is that they are too short for a tall person (I'm over 6 ft).</p>
Robin Smith