Travel Tripod

julie_anne

The combo listed below (from B&H) is just slightly above your price range, but the tripod legs and ball head are

generally considered to be a solid first start in good and usable camera support. I bought the earlier versions

of this combo many years ago and still use them. I believe the folded legs will fit in a 21" suitcase if you detach

the ballhead. There may be similar items made by other manufacturers but I am most familiar with Manfrotto. You definitely want the quick release version of the ball head, which is far more convenient to use.

Best of luck.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1013288-REG/manfrotto_190xpro4_compact_3_section.html

<p>Well, carbon fiber is the way to go if you are looking for lightweight durability. There are many such tripods listed between $100 and $200. I have a Promaster T525P that is great but costs around $300. One option you might consider is a carbon fiber monopod, which would be cheaper and lighter weight. I recently purchased an Oben CTM-2500 that weighs about one pound (not including the head). And it just about fits your space requirement including the ball head I put on it. Of course, you can always remove the head for travel. </p>
David H

Julie. Loosen up the budget if you possibly can. I can think of a few brands, none of which are so low in price and deliver. Best to consider the leg set as separate buy. And a decent ball head is separate. It will last a long long long time and believe me, is worth a hundred more than your budget allows as minimum. Since you have a desire for quality I am sure you will agree. Yet the monopod idea is a good one and can fit nicely into a bag and will do the job.