Transparency printing at STAPLES

<p>I'm a photographer and I am going to STAPLES to find a printer and something to print on that is totally transparent and as large as possible. I need to make high quality images that are about 150 dots per inch, printing speed and price are not important.<br>

-Thanks</p>

<p>Good luck at Staples. All the transparency film I've seen there is 8.5X11 and designed for use in laser/dry ink printers. Also, most of the printers are also 8.5X11 paper size and designed more for general home/office work rather than high-quality photo printing. You might have better luck finding the right printer at a store like Best Buy, but I'm not sure where you'll find the transparency film you need.</p>

<p>Usually this type of transparency is for school type "overhead projector transparencies" ie pies charts; what animals live in Africa; bar graphs with different colors of sales of widgets per company division; or real estate sales stuff showing a photo of a house and its floor plan.</p>

<p>*****The type of transparency material is matched to the printer; if wrong results can be poor.; and sometimes on a fuser type machine the printer gets ruined; if drum distroyed***</p>

<p>Here with T-shirts the 11x17 transparency goes into our 15,000 buck color copier; a toner based machine. These higher end transparencies cost me about 1 dollar each my cost; but they are good in quality. A lessor material here gives worse results. If the wrong material is used; it gets/fuses on the drum and I am out a 800 to 1,000 buck drum.</p>

<p>Thus what happens is some Goober guy wants me to drop my transparency prices if he brings in some garbage unknown transparency. We lost a drum long ago by doing this. In a way it is like if old Goober shoots a rat and then brings it to a 5 star eating place and wants it cooked and wants the meals price dropped.</p>