Transitioning from film to digital-- what should I look for?

<p>Hey everyone--<br>

I admit, I need some help and am probably going to ask the thoroughly annoying questions.<br>

I've been shooting film for about 10 years and have recently decided to make the move to digital.<br>

My trusty film camera is a Pentax K-1000. I have two bodies and generally keep each loaded with different film (speed, ect.). I also have an old Minolta which was passed down from a family member, but I really love my Pentex.<br>

I generally shoot b&w film and process my own whenever possible.<br>

Unfortunately, I took a new job in a rural area and no longer have access to a darkroom (nor a lab that will process true B&W film), nor is there any way to accommodate my own equipment. I'm also interested in getting involved with a little freelance travel photography and possibly gallery work and am finding more and more that most publications expect digital submissions.<br>

I've done a lot of research into DSLRs, but I am still not sure what would be the best for me.<br>

I live in Colorado at high altitude and often travel to 10,000-plus feet in elevation, which I have found impacts my equipment choices when it comes to shooting film. I find the sun is just stronger here, and I often struggle to work within the range the Pentax w/ a 50 mm lens can handle without blowing out photos when shooting in anything other than ideal morning/evening light. I also often sacrifice a shallower depth of field for the same reason. I learned to shoot in CO, but I noticed the difference when I moved down to 3,000 feet, and I had to adjust my shooting style and how I was metering. Now I am back in the Centennial State.<br>

On the other hand, I also shoot a lot of low light and time exposures, so that is important to me too.<br>