Total realignment of my body/lens quiver?

Discussion in 'Canon EOS' started by aaron_p., May 10, 2016.

1. Background:
    I've been shooting EOS since 1997 when I switched over from FD. I went digital in 2005. Shooting moved from portraiture and food to skiing, landscapes, travel, and backpacking. My wife and I acquired quite the setup and lens quiver. But we've been so busy the last 3 years. I realized I need to reduce the quiver of lenses, and maybe realign things. Here is what I have:
    Bodies
    5D Mk1
    40D
    Zooms:
    Tokina 10-17mm Fisheye
    EFS 10-22mm 3.5-4.5 USM
    EFS 17-55mm 2.8 IS USM
    Sigma 18-125mm 3.5-5.6 OS HSM
    Sigma 18-200mm 3.5-6.3 OS
    Sigma 50-150mm 2.8 EX HSM Mk2
    EF 70-200mm 2.8 L USM
    EF 70-300mm 4-5.6 IS USM
    Primes:
    Sigma 24mm 1.8 EX
    Canon 50mm 1.8 Mk1
    Canon 50mm 1.4 USM
    Sigma 105mm 2.8 EX 1:1 Macro
    TC
    Sigma 1.4x
    Sigma 2x APO EX
    THE PLAN:
    Now our photography is mostly travel and landscapes with some skiing and astrophotography. I wanted to simplify, so I was thinking of selling most everything and end up with a simple quiver like my 5 lens setup back when I had my EOS 3 in 2004.
    FIVE QUESTIONS:

Body: 6D - seems perfect for everything except am I going to regret dropping down to 4.5fps?
    Lenses:
    Wide Angle/Zoom: Sigma 24mm 1.8 EX or return to a EF 16/17-35mm 2.8 L USM?
    Primary: EF 24-105mm 4 L IS USM ... f/4 is slow... or I could get the Tamron 24-70mm 2.8 IS USM? But then would I need a 28-300 as a walk around?
    Tele Zoom: 70-200 2.8 L USM or do I surrender to the amazing usefulness of IS and upgrade to f/2.8 IS or the much lighter and easier to travel with f/4 IS?
    Fast: EF 50mm 1.4 USM (I'll cry when I sell the 1.8 Mk1, what a gem)
    Macro: Sigma 105mm 2.8 EX or upgrade to an EF (or Sigma) 100mm IF IS USM?

2. W/A: I'd get the 16-35mm f4 IS. The 16-35mm f2.8 will probably be revamped soon.