Too poor for FX. Advice for a DX Solution. Flash and Lenses

jamie_murray2

<p>Hi all,<br>

I thought I would turn to you for some advice with regards to acquiring some new equipment. I currently have a Nikon D5100 and I must say I love it, I do aspire to FX and a D800 but right now I dont think I can justify the jump, both due to my experience but also due to the financials. <br>

Im still very new to photography really, and just when I think I have found an area that is "what I do" I'm captivated by another facet of the hobby and want to explore it. I was initially drawn to photography for Landscapes, and although I want to continue shooting them, I also want to explore a few other things. I love reading The Strobist, and am keen to explore some creative portraiture and street photography, but also being a Pilot by trade, Im really keen to start trying to capture some good Aviation shots. Tied into this I've also had a crack at some Automotive stuff which I really enjoy. As you can see I'm keen to have a go at everything.<br>

What I would like to ask is for some advice on buying a lens or two and a flash for my D5200. Originally I wanted a to buy a D800, thought about a used D3X and also a used D3S for some low light stuff. In the end I have decided to get more use out of what I have as I essentially came to the conclusion I just want a new body because I like wanted to get the FX crossover done early.<br>

Anyway I digress, currently I have a nice tripod, remote, D5100, Kit 18-55 and a 50mm 1.4. I got the 50mm as I wanted to try some shallow depth of field stuff and I very much like it, the crop factor however is a little bit of a pain, particularly as I've tried it for some flying shots and could do with something wider, so was thinking about the 35mm DX. The 18-55mm is good too but much prefer the faster 50mm's aperture range, apart from for landscape work.<br>