Too late for medium format?

etaf_khan

I've been shooting slide film in my 35mm camera for several years now. I have no desire to go digital because film makes

me happier than anything else. I am a sharpness freak so I use the best equipment I can afford (prime lenses etc).

But I know that I would enjoy medium format. The only thing is that I worry that it will become

impossible to find 120 film soon, or find a place to get it developed. I travel all over the world and love to shoot

travel photos.

Is it too late to jump into MF to shoot film? I've been considering a Hasselblad 501CM and/or a Pentax 645Nii system for

some time now. I'm just worried about taking the plunge.

What are your thoughts?

• Replies 129
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Is it too late to jump into MF to shoot film?

I don't think so. New films still being made. Readily available at least here in the USA. Traveling with MF is another issue altogether. Too much of a hump for me and getting film through customs in every country is a hassle. But I'm older now. In my youth I'd take an RB67 everywhere so YMMV. I'd say jump in and try it. The investment is not bad and if it's not your cup of tea sell the stuff or just use it at home. Thats what I do now. Shoot film in my Bronica's at home and travel with digital gear. It's just easier for me now. When I travel, I travel light. Best of Luck to you..................Lou

Hi Etef.

Professional studio photographers still prefer film, when it has to be really good. And if you prefer sharpness and

resolution there is no way around film. And it is still the cheapest to work with. I guess we will be able to get film and

labs in every big city for years. And it will take at least 5 years before the digital sensor can compete with the film.

You can always put a digital back on your MF camera, and you have so many great lenses to choose from. The