Tochigi or Nikon 300mm f/2.0

vaughnbrines

<p>Hello,<br>

<br />Does anyone know where I could buy a Nikon 300mm f/2.0 or the same, similar version that Tochogi made? Although I am a college student, it is for a very specialized project that I am conducting this summer, for which I need this long focal length and the fastest aperture I can find.</p>

<p>Thank you so much,<br>

Vaughn Brines</p>

<p>The keh.com listing is for a 300/2.8. </p>

<p>The Nikon 300/2 shows up once every two to three years at a cost of $8000 to $15000. The last one I saw was online in an English store. The Tochogi ones are generally only available with a video camera mount, so completely impossible to use on film bodies. The last two I saw about 2 years ago sold for around $3000 if I am not mistaken.</p>

<p>Your best bet is a Nikon 200/2 or Nikon 400/2.8 either of which can be easily found for under $2000 USD. Depending on what camera set up you need you could consider the Canon FD 200/1.8 or Canon EF 200/1.8, either of which is more difficult to find and will cost well over $2000 USD.</p>

<p>You might find an Olympus 250mm f2 before you would find a Nikon 300mm f2.</p>

<p>There is no "best place" to find any of those. The Nikon 300mm f2 and Oly 250mm f2 are so specialized that one comes up on the market every couple of years, so you literally have to search everywhere, or advertise for "lens wanted" and hope that someone who has one is in a selling mood.</p>

<p>Do you, either through the school or on your own, have the $10,000 that one of these extremely rare lenses is going to cost you?</p>

<p>Can you explain the project that you are working on? Is it film or digital? Do you need the fast aperture for shallow DOF, or for the low light ability?</p>