To shoot and burn or not.

jeff_shurak

<p>Hey, I'm not particularly new to wedding photography. I've been doing it for about 3 years now and have about 35 weddings under my belt as the solo/main photographer.<br>

My basic package is essentially a dvd with high res images. Every photo I take I personally look at and touch up or discard if its bad(the blinkers, goofy faces etc..). This is a major part of my shooting style as I don't really consider an image complete until I've personally signed off on it. I believe that I can't really call it 'my work' until its been through lightroom/photoshop and burned to disc. </p>

<p>That being said, I charge what I charge with that in mind. I occasionally get the request for untouched images, which I typically explain this concept. However, recently I've had an inquiry for an event, 5 hours coverage, all the photos on the disc. I've been teetering on the edge about accepting this and just doing the shoot and burn. I was initially thinking a few hundred dollars off my base price. The client asked me if I could do it for considerably less. Around a 1/3 of my base price. </p>

<p>At the end of the day, I'm not going to be giving this client MY work, just photos I took. I have no idea what she will use them for, what she will do with them, what possible artistic atrocities she will commit and tell her friends 'oh this was my photographer and this is HIS work'</p>

<p>My question are these:<br>

Do you shoot and burn? <br>

Do you charge a fraction of your price because its less time and effort on your part? How do you price it?</p>

<p>I'm hesitant to do this for such a low price because the potential side effects it may cause my business. Perhaps I'm over thinking this, but I can't call this my work if someone else has a direct effect on the final product. This client may do things to the photos that can potentially misrepresent my work and pass it off as mine. </p>