TLR vs Folding

ron_b3

<p>Hi all,</p>

<p>I am new to Medium format (so new I don't have a camera yet). I am kind of torn in terms of what camera to buy & thought some experience based opinions might help me to sort thought this.<br>

First & foremost I want to take portraits of my kids that look good and can be blown up big if I want to (In the past I have blown up poster size from my 10D and while a close up inspection isn't great a step back & it looks fine - maybe I'm not as picky as I should be, or don't know what I'm missing)<br>

I was originally thinking of getting a Mamiya C220 or C330 which would give me the flexibility of changing lenses later on. BTW- KEH price seems a bit higher than I expected but may be worth it rather than risking with an ebay purchase. Anyone have other known good sources.<br>

Than as I was doing my research I stumbled upon the refurbished folding cameras from Certo6. Now I'm thinking this may be a good alternative to start into MF at a decent price point with a camera that has been properly restored. The question is will I be disappointed with the results from such a camera or spend more than I would have for a decent TLR and get inferior results (Some of the restored folder seem a bit pricey). The folder might be a fun camera to take on trips etc. but will I ultimately be let down with the results as being on par with by DSLR?<br>

Then there is a question which is the better camera for someone who never used MF to start with?</p>

<p>Anyway thanks in advance for any insight & experience you can share.<br>

Ron</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Certo's cameras are certainly nice, albeit expensive, but as an introduction to MF, maybe not so much. Also, folders - unless they have coupled rangefinders - are less than ideal for portraits, IMO.<br>