Tiptoe through the tulips

rachelle_m.

Hi everyone,

Today is the very first day of snow we've had all winter, which naturally has me

thinking about the spring. Although I'm currently contemplating various

possibilities, the Netherlands is near the top of my list and I would really

like to visit during the tulip season. I know that a lot depends on weather as

to when the tulips will be in flower, but is there a general time frame that I

can look at to plan around? Have tulips been flowering earlier in recent years

than in the past? Are there any websites out there that keep track of the

flowering status of the tulips? Are there any recommendations for specific

areas that would be great to photograph?

And, although I'm most interested in tulips, I am a nature/flower photographer

at heart, so any other recommendations of places to visit and photograph for

spring and summer flowers would be appreciated. Guidebooks rarely comment on

this sort of thing, and photos on the internet rarely provide that kind of

information.

Cheers.

Glacier National Park is spectacular for wildflowers (in carpets!) in early July. There is an annual festival for wildflowers in Waterton (on the Canadian side) which features guided walks and even photography workshops. www.watertonwildflowers.com

Staying in Canada, Victoria gets spring much earlier than Toronto, and Butchart Gardens has wonderful displays of spring flowers. www.butchartgardens.com

If you are looking at Europe, consider going to Mainau on Lake Constance (Bodensee). I was there one year at the beginning of April and their displays of spring bulbs were incredible. http://www.mainau.de/htdocs/en/start.htm

The time is late April /early May and the location is between Haarlem and Leiden , centred around the small town of Lisse. There are more northwest of Amsterdam in an area called Beemster - between Purmerend and Alkmaar, where there's also a number of windmills.