Tips for baptism shoot

cnhoff

Hi,

i have been shooting for several years with the EOS system and have a

350D w Tamron 28-75 and 70-200 f4 and a 420EX flash (w Omnibounce) now.

Recently a friend of mine asked me to shoot his daughters baptism. I

have to confess, that shooting people is not a thing i do a lot

especially in a baptism/wedding situation, so i fear i will not get

the shots he wants to see.

Maybe some of you will let me take advantage of their experience. What

i am most concerned about are the light levels in the church (a rather

small one). My Tamron is not badly suited for this i guess, but what

ISO can i expect to use and do you think, i can get away without

flash?What apertures do you normally use in respect to available light

and DOF?

Also, are there any do's and don'ts of this type of shooting?What

frames should i definetely make? (guess i am not so familiar with

baptisms in general :)

Thanks a lot!

What denomination? How old is the child? Do they allow flash? What kind of lighting do they have in there now? How close can you get?

There is so much diversity with baptisms in differing faiths it is difficult to give specific advice. For some this is a solemn occasion, and with others it's a party with singing and even dancing. Yes, dancing. Really.

Generally, I would approach it like shooting a wedding ceremony. Available light. f/2.8 or f/4 or f/5.6 if lighting allows. I would use a monopod, or maybe even a tripod if possible, but 1600 ISO if not.