Timestamp on Videos D610

andrew_gale

Capture.thumb.PNG.ef72f748d40e657744c79f3e20c53e10.PNG

Thanks in advance. I just started shooting some video on my D610. When i imported it to my computer i noticed that the timestamp is off.

Ive attached a screenshot showing a video and a still image in windows explorer. Date modified is the actual time they were shot, but if i were to change anything about the files (including adding or tagging metadata) this field would change.

Date Created = the time of the import to my computer

Media Created = field that only exists for video and is off by 4 hours

Date = date taken, but also off by 4 hours on video

Date taken = correct date taken for photos but not a field for video

Whats going on? I need to sort videos and photos by the actual date taken. How would i do that?

Sounds as if the camera time is set incorrectly. The camera only automatically 'knows' the correct time if a GPS module is connected to it, and the menu option for using the UTC is set. Otherwise the camera just uses the time that's set by the user, and will gain or lose time like any non-synchronised timepiece.

I assume Andrew's issue is that the "media created" metadata field in the .MOV file and the timestamp in the file system file differ, rather than that the time is itself inaccurate. As he says, there's a 4-hour disparity.