Three cheers for professionals! PART II

Discussion in 'Portraits and Fashion' started by christian_stahl, Jun 7, 2010.

1. I'm in constant need of press photos, and short of money: you guessed it, I'm a musician (http://web.mac.com/stahlchristian/Videos/Barsanti.html).
    I posted a question in July 2008 in the Nikon Lenses and Optics-Forum, concerning portraits. Hoped for an answer as "get this lens, and you're set".
    In variations I got three answers: light - composition - practice.
    As part of a new marketing strategy, I want to communicate an image, using picture, among other things.
    So I've started to experiment with portraits, as shown here: http://gallery.me.com/stahlchristian#100203&view=mosaic&sel=0 (please note that these pictures are not yet processed, they ought to be lighter after that).
    There are light issues.
    What would you recommend? I thought about a helper with an emergency blanket stretched over a hula hoop, reflecting the sun so the other part of the face is lit.
    And composition... I don't have a photo studio. So I used nature as a background. There are also some historical buildings near (see http://gallery.me.com/stahlchristian#100228&view=grid&sel=0).
    Please tell me if I should rather use the Beginner Photography Questions-forum. Glad 'bout any advice, Chris

2. The question is: how are the images to be used?
    Brochure, CD cover, flier, poster - internet or what. The need dictates the design.
    You need intimacy with your viewer and as most press release -web images are small a close-up with partial instrument would seem appropriate.
    I would definitely incorporate some of the locations - just interesting pieces of architectural details only as mood creators, preferably out of focus backgrounds to add elegance.
    Shoot in the shade, and use a piece of foam core covered with crumpled tin foil (flattened) to accent the lighting.