Three cheers for professionals! PART II

<p>I'm in constant need of press photos, and short of money: you guessed it, I'm a musician (http://web.mac.com/stahlchristian/Videos/Barsanti.html). <br>

I posted a question in July 2008 in the <a href="../nikon-camera-forum/?category=Nikon+Lenses+and+Optics">Nikon Lenses and Optics</a>-Forum, concerning portraits. Hoped for an answer as "get this lens, and you're set".<br>

In variations I got three answers: light - composition - practice.<br>

As part of a new marketing strategy, I want to communicate an image, using picture, among other things.<br>

So I've started to experiment with portraits, as shown here: http://gallery.me.com/stahlchristian#100203&view=mosaic&sel=0 (please note that these pictures are not yet processed, they ought to be lighter after that).<br>

There are light issues. <br>

What would you recommend? I thought about a helper with an emergency blanket stretched over a hula hoop, reflecting the sun so the other part of the face is lit. <br>

And composition... I don't have a <em>photo</em> studio. So I used nature as a background. There are also some historical buildings near (see http://gallery.me.com/stahlchristian#100228&view=grid&sel=0).<br>

Please tell me if I should rather use the <a href="http://www.photo.net/beginner-photography-questions-forum/">Beginner Photography Questions</a>-forum. Glad 'bout any advice, Chris</p>

<p>The question is: how are the images to be used?<br>

Brochure, CD cover, flier, poster - internet or what. The need dictates the design.<br>

You need intimacy with your viewer and as most press release -web images are small a close-up with partial instrument would seem appropriate.<br>

I would definitely incorporate some of the locations - just interesting pieces of architectural details only as mood creators, preferably out of focus backgrounds to add elegance.<br>