Those of you who shoot 35mm slides.

Discussion in 'Film and Processing' started by raymondc, Feb 13, 2010.

1. What's been your reason to still shoot them?
    I've been with digital shooting RAW of course but PP has never done much PP.
    I started shooting some slides this year. They been in the freezer for some time. I like how you only got a certain amount of shots, plus I am a scape photographer on low volume. A roll last me a month - lol. When I get the slides back they look great, the colors pop, you can see the results before you leave the lab. No PP required other than matching slide. Plus of course when the slide is back lighted.

2. I shoot slides because I love how they scan and I can match the true colors with my eye.

3. I started out shooting color print film 30 years ago and quickly became unhappy with the quality so a friend who got me started in 35mm photography gave me a roll of Kodachrome 64 and said try this and tell me what you think.I was so blown away that I've never looked back.The realism even back then was outstanding, it was like being back at the original scene looking at it with my own eyes once again.It is ironic today because we have some of the highest quality E6 film ever offered yet the E6 structure is in collapse.So many people have been enchanted by digital that they don't even know what options are out there - a lot like me 30 years ago.Don't get me wrong digital is great stuff and I'm sure at some point will obsolete film completely due to marketing forces but I fear we will have lost forever one of the best and many photogaphers will hang up the cameras when it is gone.Our modern world is too quick to dismiss everything from the past as being oboslete when a new technology comes along.

4. Well when my freezer is empty I will quit and send all my film cameras to a Museum so they can throw them away because I can't do that.