Theatre and Photography - some philosophical questions

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by amy_simpson, Oct 8, 2003.

1. I am a PhD student studying Soviet theatre through the medium of the
    remaining photographs of productions. Consequently (partly for
    research and partly as an amateur photographer myself) I'd like to
    post a sort of philosophical question - what do photographers who
    have taken shots of theatre productions believe their role is
    (creative or documentary), and what sort of problems do you
    encounter? If any knows of any published information on these sort of
    questions, or the links between theatre and photography, I'd love to
    know about them too (journals, books, etc.)

Thank you so much!

2. Tough question...in my opinion, the first step is in identifying the use of the photo. Is it strictly for archival purposes or intended for a news release, scrapbook, etc? In any case, I feel the photographer should take some artistic liberties while keeping the set, lights, etc documented. I tend to use varying angles to spice up the scene. Check out some of the pictures in my portfolio (I'll try to add some more tonight). Granted, they likely aren't at your level of theatre or photography...they were taken in high school documenting a high school production. Good Question!
    006C42-14796984.jpg

3. I am from India.I have been photographing dance and theatre for almost a decade.You can view my work in the dance folder at www.anvars.com.
    Basically to me photographing theater or dance is about freezing some of the most beautiful moments for ever. i feel I am also taking part in a creative process.and that process also becomes documentation.
    I get excited by the continous interplay of light and form.
    i generally shoot on a 400ASA film, handheld.