I am a PhD student studying Soviet theatre through the medium of the

remaining photographs of productions. Consequently (partly for

research and partly as an amateur photographer myself) I'd like to

post a sort of philosophical question - what do photographers who

have taken shots of theatre productions believe their role is

(creative or documentary), and what sort of problems do you

encounter? If any knows of any published information on these sort of

questions, or the links between theatre and photography, I'd love to

know about them too (journals, books, etc.)

Thank you so much!

Tough question...in my opinion, the first step is in identifying the use of the photo. Is it strictly for archival purposes or intended for a news release, scrapbook, etc? In any case, I feel the photographer should take some artistic liberties while keeping the set, lights, etc documented. I tend to use varying angles to spice up the scene.

Check out some of the pictures in my portfolio (I'll try to add some more tonight). Granted, they likely aren't at your level of theatre or photography...they were taken in high school documenting a high school production.

Good Question!<div>006C42-14796984.jpg.25f8a07fd9e82e63eba111c8c8c93a9e.jpg</div>

I am from India.I have been photographing dance and theatre for almost a decade.You can view my work in the dance folder at www.anvars.com.

Basically to me photographing theater or dance is about freezing some of the most beautiful moments for ever. i feel I am also taking part in a creative process.and that process also becomes documentation.

I get excited by the continous interplay of light and form.

i generally shoot on a 400ASA film, handheld.

This might be relevant: there is currently (until 8th November) an exhibition of the work of John Haynes at the National Theatre in London, titled "Images Of Beckett". Haynes photographed all of Samuel Beckett's productions since 1973, and produced the iconic photo of Beckett along the way.