The years of 2000-2020 will be the lost generation of photographs

<p>I'm a professional wedding photographer, I love my work and what I am doing; helping people preserve their memories from a day that marks itself.<br>

I went to school for a degree in fine arts photography, learning how to develop and print images meant to be art, meant to be framed, meant to be seen.<br>

Recently I met with a bride whose mother said something that made me realize there is a coming blank slate in human experience...dramatic, but perhaps very true.</p>

<p>She pointed out that with so many people, particularly the younger ones, using only digital cameras/phones/etc to capture any moment, they have no experience of printing the pictures to be viewed, only a screen saver or a social networking page.</p>

<p>When their computers, cameras, phones or blackberries do what they ultimately must-break down, generations of images will be lost, gone without a way to get them back.</p>

<p>Of course we tell people to back up things, but so often they back these moments to other mechanical or digital devices (i.e. an external hard drive) which will also break down. As a professional I back things up in triple, and with a DVD physical hard copy, but even these will be one day...land fill. Is the future of the past to be in storing things online? or can anyone foresee a way to stave off the loss of so much from so many?</p>

<p> </p>

<p>I don't know if you're aware of MySpace, Facebook, Flickr, etc., but there seem to be a couple of photos posted on those sites. They may not be printed in the traditional form, but technology seems to be changing. And the dates in the title are a wee bit arbitrary. I don't mean to be a jerk, but really? JR</p>