The wedding is in a small town, and I DON'T DRIVE!

robgomez

<p>Hello,<br>

I have a small problem. A person has asked me to shoot their wedding, and it's good money. I have agreed to meet with them soon, and told them I have the date open. <br>

The bride sent me a little more information about the wedding, and to my surprise, it's about an hour drive away from my city, in a small town on the California coast, away from public trans and major highways. <br>

I don't drive. My license is suspended for a stupid reason that I'm trying to fix right now. <br>

Any suggestions? I was thinking of hiring a buddy to shoot with me for $100, and can drive there and back. Is that a cruel amount to pay? I'm really new to all this.<br>

I'm just wondering if it's even possible to be a wedding photographer without a car. Do any of you guys have experience with this?<br>

Thanks!<br>

Rob</p>

<p>Rob, I think access to reliable transportation is an expected prerequisite for this type of work; it'd be no different from being expected to dress appropriately.</p>

<p>Your buddy might do it for $100 and not feel cheated, but I suspect the cost will be much higher for it to be perceived as fair - maybe $1/mile plus fuel cost over and above his wages as a second shooter. </p>

<p>If I was to hire a photographer with an second shooter, then I would expect one photographer to go to the location of the girls getting ready while the other goes to the boys location. If you only have one car then this could also raise an issue. <br /><br />I honestly think that your not in a position to do the job so you should therefore turn down the work until you are in a position to do it properly.</p>

"I'm just wondering if it's even possible to be a wedding photographer without a car."

If you can reliably get where you're supposed to be with the things you need, it doesn't really matter whether you're the one doing the driving. The only issue is fair compensation for your driver/assistant.