The trouble with TFP (with interior designers, anyways)

joshwand

I'm currently studying photography in a BA program at City College of

NY, and I've been trying to get some work on the side through

craigslist to build up an area of my book that's a bit thin (interiors).

The way I've been structuring it is that I waive my day rate and they

only pay for gear rental and materials costs. The problem arises when

I deliver the estimate for how much that costs-- from $300-$500

including processing.

Part of the problem is that I don't have all my own equipment that's

geared towards interiors-- my current setup is a mamiya 7 with an 80,

and a rb67 with a 90 and a polaroid back. I'd use the RB, but finding

someplace to rent a 50 or the 75 shift for the RB has proven

difficult. So I have to end up renting a whole outfit (4x5 or gx680),

plus supplemental lighting which I definitely don't have. Plus then

there's the cost of polaroids and chromes for both daylight and

tungsten. By the time I'm done (and even without the modest 10% markup

I was considering) the costs are really getting up there.

The people who have contacted me through my ad on craigslist (which

says "AT COST") are just starting out themselves and obviously have no

idea what it costs to hire a photographer-- even without factoring in

a day rate!

How should I best structure this or advertise better so that I can not

have designers wimp out on me when they get a cost estimate? They

don't realize they're *still* getting a better deal than hiring a pro?

Another part of the problem is the market saturation in NYC for

aspiring photogs-- one lady said she'd had 100 emails in response to

an ad to do a multi-room shoot for $150 with no other fees or costs. I

tried explaining to her the value of a professional job by someone who

knows what he's doing (I know McGrath backwards and forwards,

practically), on professional materials and with professional