I've been shooting 12X20 for about 6 months now, and have carried the

beast to California, Australia, Bolivia and Peru (to the top of Machu

Picchu: not necessarily recommended!) I find that I really love the

format, and enjoy using this camera immensely despite all the obvious

difficulties. I thought it would be interesting to ask other ULF

(ultra-large format) users out there: what especially appeals to you

about the format/camera that you use? Why do you use it? What do

you hate about it? Of course, former ULF users are welcome to chime

in with answers as to why they gave up using their ULF camera.

I'll start with my own answers:

1. I really like the aspect ratio on 12X20. It has challenged me to

think about space in my chosen area (almost exclusively portraiture)

in a very different way.

2. I love the big image on the GG

3. I really like a negative that I can pick up and take in at a

comfortable viewing distance.

4. (Main practical reason) I've started printing pretty much

exclusively in Platinum, and like to have a picture larger than 8X10.

5. The "big production" in setting the thing up works very well with

the kind of portraits I'm doing now, elaborate setups often involving

costumes or "fantastical" props.

6. Finally, I just like using the camera, it suits me, and I rarely

think at all about whether I could get "better" results with a

different one, or whether my results "justify" using it, something I

thought about a lot when I used 4X5. I just like the results I get

with this camera, pure and simple.

Main pet hate:

Shooting verticals is a pain, and often I want to (but then hate

myself!)

Looking forward to hearing from fellow ULF afficionados. And to all

of you thinking of making the plunge: go for it! If it suits you,

it's some of the most fun you can have in photography, and a very

satisfying extension of the "meditative pace" that draws so many of

us to LF to begin with.

Nathan