The Perfect "Nikon" Wedding Camera

jon_menezes

<p>To start off I am a Nikon using Wedding Photographer. I personally believe both Nikon and Canon are amazing cameras and dont want this to turn into some brand war. Each have pros and cons so lets just leave that out of this please.<br>

<br />I currently use a D700 as my primary camera. I have the f/2.8 24-70mm and 70-200mm lenses. I couple the long lens with my D300s. I have a D7000 as a backup.<br>

<br /> Ok now that you know my setup I would like to give you my big idea. I want to sell my D300s, D7000 and 70-200mm lens (i rarely use this lens, i primarily use the 24-70 and a 50 prime). I figure ill get around 4k. (1000 for the D7000, 1000+ for the D300s, and close to 2k for the lens). I will have the new camera and my D700 as backup.<br>

So with that money im debating whether to buy the D800 or the D4?<br>

Im leaning towards the D4 for these reasons.<br>

Yes the D4 is twice as much, but it also has a twice as long life expectancy. 200,000 actuations for the D800 and 400,000 actuations for the D4. Its essentially like buying two d800s, but it will last just as long and be better pictures.<br>

The D4 has better low light abilities.<br>

The image is better.<br>

It shoots higher rate of fire 10 fps vs 4fps.<br>

It shoots 16mp vs the 36mp of the D800. To me the lower mp is better. I dont need all of that image for a wedding. I see that as a big draw back for file size, editing speed and so on.<br>

With that said does anyone have an opinion? I would love to have a good reason to save 3000 dollars, but right now Im not seeing the logic.<br>

You can see some of our pictures here, <a href="http://www.jonmphotography.com">Sonoma Wedding Photography</a><br>

Thanks,<br />Jon</p><div>00aHdN-458835584.jpg.9609ee178ba1e9b00d20419c67173fcc.jpg</div>