Hello all,

I am planning to build a darkroom in my basement in the near future

and have drawn up some plans to use for the space available. I have

posted the plans on my website here:<br><br>

<a href="http://home.comcast.net/~klaumphoto/darkroom.html">Darkroom

Plans</a><br><br>

I have never built or really used a darkroom before so if anyone can

take a look at these plans and let me know if they see any fatal flaws

I would greatly appreciate it. Any suggestions are welcome.

Adam

Adam,

I think your plans look pretty good, however one comment. When I'm washing prints (RC mostly) at the end of the sink, I like to continually remove them as I'm working and hang them above the sink. In your plan you would have to exit the area into the work room. The reason I remove the prints as I'm working is that the edges of the RC paper will absorp water after being left too long in the wash.

Tom

What's the advantage of having the door between the workroom and darkroom? I would probably just put it all in one room, and switch places with print drying rack and dry mount press. Or, I guess you could frame it in to have some separation, but just not put a door on.

You are luckey. Many would kill for a set up like this. Mine is similar two room affair, but built at different times as space became available.

My suggestions as follows:

Change the location for the enlarger to where the print drying racks are.

To facilate movement between the rooms, hinge the inner door on the opposite side still opening inward. The idea is to work with the inner door open. The paper cutter is near the enlarger and you can use it to cut larger sheets of paper to smaller size. Only stock the larger sizes. this gets your lenses and enlarger away from the humidity.

The right side counter is then available for finishing operations like matting and framing.

The drying racks should be under the right counter on slide out trays.