telephoto vs telephoto zoom

<p>Hi Guyz,</p>

<p>I am a beginner and i am stuck up with the difference between a telephoto and telephoto zoom lens.</p>

<p>The only difference i know is that telephoto has a single focal length and telephoto has a range of focal length.</p>

<p>So what is the advantage of buying a lens with single focal length? It is a better deal to go for a lens with a range of focal lengths.</p>

<p>Eg. In canon lenses, <strong>EF 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 IS USM</strong> is a better deal than <strong>EF 300mm f4L IS USM</strong>....coz the former gives a range till 300mm wheras the latter gives only a focal length of 300mm.</p>

<p>Also i want to know the difference between <strong>f4.5-5.6 and f4L</strong>?</p>

<p>Thank you in advance<br>

Mohamed</p>

<p>Single focal length lenses tend to producer sharper, less distorted images. They may have larger aperture abilities. In the two lenses you talked about for example, the zoom lens has a f/5.6 aperture when you zoom out to 300mm. The fixed 300mm lens can obviously do f/4, one stop better, at this focal length.</p>

<p>The "L" in f/4L is Canon's way of designating it as a high quality lens. This does not mean however, that the 70-300mm is a bad lens. In fact, generally speaking, for most people, it's the better choice since it's more versatile. A telephoto prime (fixed lens) at that focal length is really only useful in a narrow set of circumstances, in my opinion.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>So what is the advantage of buying a lens with single focal length?</p>

</blockquote>

<p>In all regards prime lenses are better than zoom lenses. The only drawback is that you cannot change the field-of-view and perspective. Everything else is <em>usually</em> better -- optical quality, weight, price, speed etc..</p>

<p>In your case, the price difference of the zoom vs prime is because the 300 f4L is an L lens — professional build quality, weather sealed (dust, rain etc) and very high quality glass.<br>