teaching digital photography.

I studied photography in college when black and white film was the

only medium taught. I had great joy in learning and went off to

venture into the art even after I was finished studying. It was

about 4-5 years ago but all we did in the sake of digital

photography was to learn the basics of photoshop.

Since I graduated from college, I experimented with numerous media

and trends. I must have captured somebodys attention that the dean

of a local college approached me with an idea of setting up a

digital photography certificate program and wants me to setup a

course schedule and teach a couple courses.

I was taught photography when everything was different and the

instructors used some techniques that were very effective at the

time. But now, everything is a lot more different with `auto-

everything` digital cameras and I would like to get input from all

of you who might have an idea or two about what could be interesting

to a digital photography student.

These students will all have at least a bachelors degree in a

different field and they will most likely do photography as a hobby

or to document products/buildings etc.

I would appreciate all comments. Thank you all in advance.

As a place to start, why not go to the web pages of some of the better Colleges (especially the ones that offer good media courses) or Art Schools around and have a look at what is being offered to get some ideas... be very careful not to simply copy anyone else's curriculum though(!!!) It'll just be a good way to get a gist for some of the things that might be important in the context of what certificate grads will 'need to know'.

If it were up to me there would be two classes;

1.) Introduction to Digital Photography, covering basic camera operation, related hardware and workflow as well as getting into some of the basics of composition, use of shutter speeds, etc.