Taxes? New commercial photographer in California

Hi,

I'm starting a part time commercial photography business, and know little about how to pay taxes.

I know I need to charge clients .0775% sales tax.

I know I don't need to charge sales tax for shoots with electronic, non-tangible delivery (according to APA)

I plan to buy QuickBooks, but don't know how to use it yet.

I plan to do between $5000 - $15000 in my first year.

So when the client pays me an invoice, including sales tax, I keep that money until tax time comes along and I have to file and pay just

like I would with my personal income taxes?

As someone doing such a small amount of business, should I get an accountant to do my taxes? I'm a big do-it-yourselfer, and I've

always done my personal taxes.

Could/should I do my own business taxes?

Will Quickbooks do them for me?

Do I need to do my taxes quarterly, or annually?

Also, since it's my first year of business, and I've spent $15,000 on equipment, software, etc, will my profit be $0 and will I not have to pay

any taxes? I'm just curious how much $ I really need to save for taxes.

Thank you for any help.

Sales tax and state and federal income tax are three different animals. The sales tax is paid weekly;monthly; or later depending on what limb of the tree you are on; the dough collected. Having been audited myself in Calif once or twice I recomend you get an accountant; unless you like to be keel hauled with an audit; or are well lubed. They are a dry lot; your mistakes and assumptions are like chumming for sharks with raw meat. Lets say you bought a lens out of state to skirt Arnold. An audit can have one paying the CA tax on the NYC item; PLUS the penality; PLUS the interest; ie FUN stuff. Small fries are under the radar more than a bigger outfit; thus an audit sounds trivial; like a fun day at Magic Mountain or Disneyland. Its welll worth it to have a professional accountant review your ideas; or do all you work; to reduce audits.