taking photos of dancers

Hi

I am going to take some photos of dancingevent, there will be one dancer on a

stage. There will be a professional stage lighting. I am using Canon EOS

350D. And lenses 28-90 mm, 75-300mm. I was told to shoot in RAW and in AV

mode. As it is my first time that I take photos of indoor event, I would be

grateful for any tips.

Thanks. Yana

This is tough! I just shot a dance recital too. I had to shoot at 1600 ISO at 2.8, and my shutter speeds varried depending on the light. Make sure you shoot in RAW if you can, and try to make your shutter speed at leat 1/180- 1/250. Good luck! This shot was actually the gymnasts in the show.<div>00H4AH-30799384.jpg.513734830c6eca730600c20f5a124252.jpg</div>

Definitely keep your shutter speeds up, especially if using a long lens. Remember they are moving and it doesnt take much motion to ruin the picture, unless you are purposefully wanting motion blur. Also, stage lighting can be brighter than you think. If there is a lot of dark areas being metered as well, you can easily overexpose your dancers. Good luck!

I shoot dance fairly regularly (http://photostore.chrisleck.com/Dance). There's a recent article at http://www.luminous-landscape.com/essays/dance.shtml that is quite good.

Professional stage lighting often is 3200K. If you are near the stage, the 28-90mm zoom should work well. You may need to underexpose 1-2 stops from your meter readings to to contrast and dark bright subject on dark background.

In my experience, most dance lighting is for mood -- certainly not for photography. This usually means 'dim,' especially if no spotlights are used. I often find myself at ISO 1600, f/2.8, and low shutter speeds.