taking my landscapes to the next level

scottstevens

Hello! I've been shooting landscape and nature photos for about 3 years and have definitely seen an improvement in my skills with schooling and practice.

However, lately I feel my photos give off an "amateurish" look. I do use an entry level dslr but have invested in lenses such as 35 1.8 and an ultra wide angle from tamron. I have been told time and time again that it's the person behind the camera that counts, not the equipment.

I guess the question i am asking is what can I do to really get that WOW factor and get my photography to a proffesional level? What changes did you make to help you achieve this as well? Below is a link to my Flickr page.

scott stevens

scott stevens

keep doing what you do.

Don’t do that! You obviously want something different or you wouldn’t be asking the question. Don’t let anyone talk you into complacency. Your gut is telling you to challenge yourself and that’s a great and rewarding thing to do. Most photographers find a comfort zone and wallow in it. You want more. That’s a good thing. By the way, there doesn’t necessarily have to be something wrong with your current work in order for you to move on and grow. But there’s also nothing wrong with finding things wrong with your current work that you’d like to change. Both critique and self-critique are powerful tools.

• Like 2
We didn't need dialogue. We had faces!

First, I’m hoping I never attain a level of skill I’m satisfied with because then I’d have to give up the exhilaration and challenge of trying to achieve it. So consider these to be ideas from someone traveling the same road as you, who also hasn’t reached their desired destination.