Taking better indoor photos D90

ed_ng2

Hi,

I'm a total amateur photographer learning with a new Nikon D90. I took a class to learn all the different functions of a

DSLR. My issue is this. When i take indoor photos, i'm not always happy with the results. I try not to use AUTO

mode with the built in flash because that creates an annoying shadow behind the subjects. I've tried to use A

priority, however, the photos come out blurred. If i use the S mode, the pictures come out black. Manual mode

produces the same black image. I am using a 18-200mm Nikkor VR lens. i've tried setting the ISO to 800, however,

it still doesn't produce a satisfactory image. I also have a 50mm fixed lens.

I do have a speedlight SB600 flash but i don't always want to use it, unless it's necessary.

What's the best setting to use in such situations? I have a gray card, do i need to set the camera up with the gray

card and then try it? Thanks for any info.

Ed

Well, I do not own a D90, I use a D200 most of the time. But I will take a shot at this.

I would look to see if your D90 has a bracketing mode and turn it on. And give it a try.

Also, If you are in 'S' mode - shutter priority i would set it to 1/60 of a second and give it a try. At 1/60 of a second the image should not appear blurred at all.

If you use the 'A' mode - aperture priority - you might want to try the largest aperture possible (the lower the number the better) and this should give you the brightest image possible.

If you are using a tripod, then you can drop your shutter speed down significantly (slower) - and take a look at the results.

best regards,

Ed

First and foremost, read a book like "Understanding Exposure" by Bryan Pedersen and practise, practise, practise the principles in it.