Tagging photos with keywords and later finding them

<p>Hello,<br>

I got my first D-type Nikon three months ago. I have a collection of manual focus and af- lenses. There is no problem with them.<br>

As my digital file collection is increasing I need some method to keep them in line. Folder structure alone may not be enough for a long run.<br>

I have a master classification - folder structure - based on dates. I use naming conventions to aid recognition later.<br>

As I am using Capture NX 2, I am able to give ratings - stars - to picture files. Also I am able to define keywords and assign them to a selection of files. These keywords are tags. ( Use CNX2 coloured labels to make a suitable selection and then I give appropriate keywords for the selection.)<br>

Assigned keywords and ratings are shown on Win7 photo files in MyPhotos library. I am able to sort a folder content based on a rating or by tags.<br>

Win7 claims that search by a tag is possible.<br>

However, I am not able to search a file by a tag or by a rating.<br>

How to solve this problem, if possible, using the tools that I already have?<br>

<br /><br /><br>

Cheers Kari</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Windows 7 basic search function can easily find <strong><em>embedded keywords in JPG file</em></strong>s. I use it to great advantage.<br /> In other image formats, not. I use Photoshop Bridge to add keywords to all of my image files (raw and jpg).<br>

<br /> All of my photo image files (over 140,000 and growing) are in a large folder structure (by year for the past 20+ years) and then by date within each year, more or less. Finding photo subjects over the years thru the simple Win 7 search is a trivial action.</p>

<p>So Ken, out of 140,000 images how do you remember what you have so you know what to enter in a search? And how would you know if one went missing due to minor hard drive corruption?</p>