I will be doing group and individual portraits of T-ball & little league at the

end of May and this is my first time. I have read alot of forums saying to use

85mm for the group and others say use the 17- because it is more wide angle

while others say 50mm is fine. Ive been thinking of purchasing the 85mm thats

on amazon.com but there is alot of mixed info so im afraid to invest in

anything yet

I have a 50mm, 18-55 and 75-200 i am a beginner at all of this and really want

a nice picture so i can start taking more sports photos. Can anyone help me

with tips and advice for the undertaking this month???

Also, where should i have them go outside, inside? (im in a nice area with a

green grass/tree & river park) What time of day, what should i bring to prepare

me. Any tips on packages? I heard some do wood plaques w/photo for free for

coaches. I will be doing 5 teams/ 2 t-ball 3 little league

Thank you very much for any help

You've never done this before, and in three weeks you have 5 teams to shoot? How did you get this job? You should have had your packages and prices all set up when you approached the league. Part of that is whether you will give the league team pictures or plaques in return for shooting the job. I give the league one 5x7 team photo on a plaque for each head coach. Some leagues also get one sponsor plaque per team. I use a 28-200 for T&I jobs. I would think inside/outside would depend on your weather. Do you have a rain date? How far in advance will the players get order forms? Does your photo lab have specific procedures/guidlines you must follow?

Wouldn't you do T/ball pictures at the T/ball field? What do rivers and trees have to do with the sport, this is a memory of the season not a portrait session?

You need the following:

Tech wise:

1/ two bodies incase one lets go at a minimum