Swimming -- suggestions and critique requested

vassil_mihov

I have shot sports before, primarily hockey and basketball, with good

results. I am new to shooting swimming, and found it more challenging

than I expected.

Please take a look at the attached photo and the ones in

my "Swimming" folder for critique and suggestions.

Technical details: Digital Rebel, Lexar card, Sigma 70-200 lens.<div>008xdc-18914384.jpg.0562cce32831122d1b3963fc13f955d9.jpg</div>

I'm new to shooting swimming as well, so take my advice with a grain of salt, however I've found that my best swimming shots come when the swimmer is breathing. This is because having the swimmer's face in the photo makes it more engaging, and the arms are generally in a position where they tend to emphasize the action of swimming. I've found when shooting butterfly my best shots come when I'm lying on the deck opposite the starting blocks and waiting for the swimmer to come toward me and breathe. One of the benefits of having a zoom is you can follow the swimmer while waiting for him/her to breathe, then fire. Good luck.

I've been away from swimming for too long, but I think that what you may want to look for is the elbow of the side the swimmer breathes to. Once the elbow breaks surface, the fingertips emerge, and that's when the body naturally rolls and the swimmer turns his/her head very slightly to suck air in. Also, stand about 7-8 feet in front of the swimmers as they start from the starting blocks and catch their airborne bodies stretching for the water; that's always a good shot worth catching.