Super Graphic Electronics Question

henry_finley1

My question has to do mostly with battery life. The Super Graphic has no on/off switch. So that means it is entirely dependent on capacitor quality to keep the batteries from being bled down in a short time. Speaking as a radio hobbyist, I don't believe I've ever seen a capacitor I would trust to have zero leakage. I have cut electrolytic caps open. I understand their construction of 2 rolled up foils separated by paper. I understand all that. But capacitors leak anyway, even brand new. All that said, I would very much like to order a set off 22 1/2 V batteries for my Graphic, but I don't want to install them, just to use the camera occasionally and have them to be dead the next time. I'm perfectly willing to open up the camera and install brand new capacitors. But what good would it do? As soon as I put 2 new batteries in the camera, the caps will charge up and bleed down slowly till the batteries are dead. That's my thinking. Unless someone would care to enlighten me. Thank you.

The battery is only used to fire a flashbulb, right?

So unless you're a reincarnation of Weegee, I don't see any problem in keeping the battery out until it's actually needed for a flash exposure.

Or you could replace the wet-electrolyte capacitor with a modern low-leakage polyester one. The capacitor is only there to provide a brief burst of high current to ignite the flashbulb filament.

If you don't use flash at all, you could remove the synchroniser, if fitted, completely.

Thank you. Now that we've covered the 2 replies I knew I'd get, hopefully there will be more posters. 1) taking batteries out or installing a switch is not something I'd be interested in. 2)The batteries have nothing to do with flash. They power the shutter trip solenoid only. Thank you.