Super 8 film development

<p>I'm new to film cameras, and in the midst of the digital age, I would like to take a more hands-on/organic approach... My question is regarding Super8 film; can I develop this at home, using the same techniques and materials I would use for SLR film? </p>

<p>Thanks for the help.</p>

<p>30 years ago I could find ads for home developing tanks for super 8 film. I haven't seen one in years. If you could find one of these tanks, it would work for E-6 film or B&W film. If the color negative films still have rem jet, then they would not be suitable for home processing. </p>

<p>Yeah, look for a Morse G3 Developing Tank or Superior Super-8 Daylight Tank. There are also lots of links in google searches for "8mm home or hand development". I used to process 8mm when I was a kid in the 70s. Kits were all over the Modern and Pop Photo magazine ads.</p>

<p>I was a big 8mm and Super 8 fan back in the 70s and 80s. There were people who processed their own film but I think the consensus was that you did it because you like it rather than because it was practical or saved you any money. Keep in mind that in addition to a developing tank and chemicals you will need a special drying rack that can hold the 50 feet of wet film. You also need a special tool to open the Super 8 cartridge short of smashing it with a hammer or yanking the film out through the opening and risking scratches. Superior and other companies used to sell sets of B&W reversal chemicals but those were discontinued long ago. Kodak used to make a set of reversal chemicals for making B&W slides that would work, but not sure if it's still made or easy to find.</p>