Summer Slide Photos - beginner's Exposure tips?

Hello all

First post on this forum.

I'm going to Dubrovnik in July and hoping to try taking some slides.

I'm pretty much a total beginner at photography in general, and

completely new to slides.

I have a recently-purchased D70 which I'll take with me for general

stuff, but I want to try using slide film when taking some landscape

shots. I'll be using a Nikon F90X, I have a standard 50mm F1.6, a 70-

210 F4-5.6, a 35-70 F3.3-4.5, and depending on what my budget can

stretch to on ebay, either a 20mm or 24mm. I've bought a few rolls of

the new Velvia 100 (not the 'F' version), and will of course

experiment with a roll before I go. Having said that, since I'm in

the UK and having seen the weather in Summer in Dubrovnik before,

it's unlikely I'll encounter similar light in which to test.

My main concern is the reportedly narrow latitude offered by slide

film in terms of correct exposure. As an amateur, I'd welcome any

suggestions on how to avoid getting my exposure sufficiently off to

ruin the photos.

Dubrovnik in July is hot, very sunny, and provides plenty of

opportunities. The old town, the landscape, clean blue-green sea etc.

are pretty striking. See attached, taken last year with a humble

Canon IXUS 430.

I'm intending to use a polariser, both on the D70 and the F90X. Any

comments on this in general, and on how a polariser might effect

Velvia - would it maybe be too much?

Thanks

John<div>00CYjp-24163584.thumb.jpg.ea4766138a557602f59d4acf03888fb2.jpg</div>