Suggestions for a second-hand Minolta AF body?

victor_hooi

Hi,

The zoom-ring on my father's consumer Sigma lens for his Pentax

buggered up, so then I dug up his old AE-1 to use. Then, somehow or

other, the viewfinder get's all blackened. Doesn't affect the shot

(SLR, afterall), but annoying to focus and compose. Ayway, to cut a

long story short, I'm in the market for a reasonably cheap, well-built

second hand AF body. I noticed that my orthodontist has an old 7000 AF

(he recently acquired a 300D), as well as a Tamron 90mm SP, and

Minolta 50 mm 1.7, and thought I'd get that. However, I also had a

look at some other Minolta bodies, since the 7000 is pretty old, and

I've heard the AF speed is poor (haven't tried myself, though) and it

*is* kinda ancient. So far, I've looked at (specs, not held them) the

7xi, 700si, and 800si.

I'm a beginner/amateur, and I'm pretty cheapskate (*grin). Also, I

noticed that the 7000 and 7xi don't have depth-of-field preview - is

there any other way to achieve the same effect? Also, on ebay, there

seems to be a dearth of 7xi bodies, but not many 700si, and very

little 800si - should I read something into this?

I'd appreciate any thoughts/suggestions, and thanks in advance

bye,

Victor

NB: This is probably sacrilege on a Minolta forum =), but how does the

Canon A2 compare to these? (as in, which body is it comparable to in

terms of features, build quality, mechanics etc.)

You can't achieve DOF preview if the body doesn't have it.

<p>

AF on the 7000 is indeed very slow by today's standards, and it only has one central line sensor, which makes it miss focus quite often.

<p>

You probably see fewer 700si and 800si on eBay because the owners hold on to them. They are still very capable cameras. Also see if a 600si is offered. The 600si has a different classic user interface design which you may like better than the computerized user interface of the other cameras.