Sued by Getty images

Discussion in 'Business of Photography' started by john_mcmillin, Nov 13, 2013.

1. My wife runs a small website concentrating on project management. No money changes hands through it, but it does enhance her professional reputation. To illustrate her articles, she uses photos and illustrations from various free-use sources. Apparently she picked up one photo that belonged to Getty Images and posted it to her site. Now she's charged with copyright violation. Getty is seeking $850, after opening with a four-figure demand.
    Though she keeps records for most pictures she uses, my wife can't document where she got the Getty image. She's certain that it had no warning of copyright attached. She took down the photo as soon as she got a notice from Getty.
    Does anyone have any experience to share in dealing with Getty Images? I'm looking for specifics, not general rants on the overall importance of copyright. I'm a photographer too, so I get that. She should have been a little more careful, but I'm suspicious that an agency could, hypothetically, salt the internet with unmarked photos and bring in a nice payoff by charging unsuspecting bloggers who pick them up?

2. it

it

Not sure, but $850 is pretty cheap for this kind of situation. Maybe try and get it down to half that.
    My stock agency partners with Getty and when they find a violation they send an invoice for, I think, 5X the actual usage fee. The artist rep told me they always win.
    You might get some better advice here.

3. She's certain that it had no warning of copyright attached
    The lack of a copyright notice does not mean that an image is free for everyone to use. As Ian suggested, you should try to negotiate a lower settlement.

4. I'd say Ian has it about right.