dstolman

Hi everyone. A friend has asked me to take "a few snaps" of his dog

for his holiday card. The dog is a huge white standard poodle and is

a little hyper, but she usually calms down around me after an hour or

so. I know I could just take a few pics of her outside and my friend

will be happy, but being a photojournalist student I'd like to try to

do better than that. (I'm not telling my friend that the dog is going

to a studio, if the shots come out great, I'll present him with them,

if not, he'll get the "few snaps" he asked for).

I will have access on Monday to our school's studio for five hours. (I

already have the ok to bring the dog in.) There are a few lights

available, one overhead, one small and two large ones for putting in

front or in back of a subject (as I haven't taken the lighting class

yet, just was shown a quick demonstration of them in one of my classes

I don't know what to call them). We have a black, white, brown and

blue background available, but I think the white would give way to

much contrast.

Any helpful hints would be appreciated, also if you have any dog shots

done in studio particularly of white dogs, please post.

Thanks.

Danielle<div>00EWi1-26987884.jpg.9f1622adf4e48886d4c96fccc9f37512.jpg</div>

For dogs with a limited ability to keep still, like my Wheaten Terriers:

1. I like to keep the lighting simple, so that when the dogs finally settle down, there is less to go wrong. This image is of my dogs on my couch lit by one 750ws Calumet Travelite with a large soft box just over my head.

2. Take dogs on long walks before shooting and wear them out. You don't want the dog panting and drooling, but within reason, tired dogs are less hyper.

3. Be patient. I took more than 40 images to get this one useable shot.<div>00EWjX-26988484.jpg.5f8ac864207629b9d623a7778a1b47de.jpg</div>