Student with a question

theumguy

Ok, so I'm a college student looking to get into a fairly inexpensive

medium format system, i already have a sizeable 35mm background, i own

2 nikon mf bodies(FE, and FG), and a FED rangefinder i got for 15

dollars. I really like the stuff I've done before with 6x6, and 6x7

with school cameras and i'm seriously looking into getting into a

medium format system, for the usual switch reasons.

I don't care at all about size, or weight, or those things, I take my

time with everything, and if I had the money I would shoot large

format exclusively. Any help getting me down the right road would be

greatly appreciated.

if image quality is what you seek above all else, (when i say image quality, i'm also assuming very large prints) you should just go down the large format road and get a modern lens.

when you say "if I had the money I would shoot large format exclusively" do you mean you can't afford processing costs? are you shooting color? it seems like largeformat system would be cheaper than a used hasselblad/mamiya/etc. (you don't need to get a spectacular lens right away for your large format system)

<i>I don't care at all about size, or weight, or those things, I take my time with everything, </i><br><br>

I assume you want a system that you can expand, not just fixed lens camera. You do not say your budget, so I'll go by my own definition of inexpensive.<br><br>

Mamiya RB67 Pro S (SLR). About $350 for basic kit (90mm or 127mm lens), 120 or 220 back, WLF. If this is too expensive, get RB67 (it does not have safety interlocks, otherwise is the same as RB67 Pro S). <br><br>

For 6x6, Bronica SQa or SQAi (SLR) or Mamiya TLR (if you are OK with TLR). I think Bronica basic kit will be about $400, Mamiya TLR $200 or $300.