Street or No?

Discussion in 'Street and Documentary' started by mikael_karlsson, May 12, 2009.

1. Hello folks,
    Would photos like these be considered "street" or not? Shot from public sidewalk. Kansas City Street Narcotics Unit Tactical Team serving a high risk drug related warrant.
    00TKgr-133923584.jpg

2. Second photo coming here:
    00TKgs-133923684.jpg

3. As a former press photographer I would say they are damn good news photos. Particularly the second one. You got a face. It would make a usable crop also.

4. News photography, not street photography.

5. News photography, not street photography.​
    What would be the difference?

6. Spearhead

Spearhead Moderator

I agree with Mike.

There is a great definition in Bystander , which is the most authoritative book out there on street photography:
    They have made candid pictures of everyday life in the street. That, at its core, is what street photography is.​
    This photo looks like some guy was dragged out of his house by the cops. Hardly "everyday life in the street."

7. So Jeff, in a nutshell, ''street is something that is always there?''
    Makes sense.

8. Jeff:
    Actually, the guy was sitting on the porch fence when the TAC unit approached and despite being told several time to get on the ground he refused and hence got a helping hand. Inside the house crack, Rx pain killers, and heroin was located.
    While, sadly, this is everyday life in some parts of KC, MO, I understand what you're saying and it cleared it up for me so thanks!

9. >>> What would be the difference?

Seriously?

Pick up a newspaper (web and TV is fine too) and look at the photos captured from various "breaking" news events. And then
    compare with images from various "street photographers" found in books and on the web - no need to list them. Do you see a difference?

10. I agree, spot news not street.Nice photo by the way.

11. Seriously?