Stolen Fuji: Value Question for Insurance: PLEASE RESPOND ASAP

hamletsenior

I just had my Fuji GW690 stolen tonight. It was in very good condition. I

originally paid $400 on Ebay for it. But my insurance uses "replacement value"

for losses. What would be an appropriate figure for that for when I report and

discuss this with them. I must do this very soon so any info would be much

appreciated.

Thanks

Bummer...sorry about your loss. I've been looking into insurance as well. I'm no expert but I'd be surprised if you got more then $400. Did you have to produce some sort of proof of purchase when you took out the policy? I would think that is a given. Remember, insurance companies are in it to make money. Paying out on a loss is runs counter to this of course. I wouldn't be surprised if they even gave you $200 and told you "Happy bidding!"

I just got through looking at KEH's website. KEH is about as fair priced and as good and as reputable a company as you're likely to ever find. They have one GW 690 in excellent condition for $665.

Just on the off chance that you may actually have a GW 690 III, they have one in poor (BGN) condition for $849 and another in excellent plus condition for $1169.

Geez, I bought my GW 690 III a few years ago for $700 including an incident light meter.