Still Life photography

kdough

This is my first time working in the studio. I'm supposed to come up

with some still life shots with a medium format camera using tungsten

lights. I'm aware that I will need to use a light meter and a tripod.

I need some advice on how I should set up the lighting and also what

type of a background to consider. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks

hi K,

your post is a tiny bit generic. so, i suggest that you start by giving us a hint (link or image) of something that you like, and might like to use as your target, either for the mood or lighting. and this can be a painting, a film still, or another photograph, but it will make it a lot easier for us all to give you any help. fundamentally you can use any light and any background, but everything will make a difference to the end resul that you will obtain.

t+

Yeah I agree this topic is a bit generic. This is a class assignment that is supposed to be shot on black & white film (125 iso). In the studio we have 250 and 500 watt tungsten lights. We also have a black and white pull-down sheet to use as a background. I have little to none experience with doing any studio work. I'll be back with a few example pictures that I would like to try to replicate.

Well I haven't been able to find really anything good by searching thru Google. Mainly I would like some tips on what I should experiment with. Placement of lights? What to look for (shadows/reflections)? Anything that would be of use to me would be good to hear. Things to avoid? Sorry but if anybody have anything worth hearing, I would appreciate it. Thanks!

hi K,

well, limiting it to B+W makes lighting a lot simpler, in some regards. so what you need to look at is tone and contrast. also, you could easily light it with a single tungsten bulb, so i would suggest that 500w is overkill.

Witkin uses B+W to create his interpretation of reniassance still life/genre paintings: