State of the photography industry

xxxxxx

I would like to hear what other full time professional photographers have to say

about our industry. I would like to hear your views on where is it going? Is it

getting better or worse? Is it harder or easier to turn a profit with the

current state of digital photography or if you are a film shooter with film? Who

do you see as your competition? And it you don't mind sharing what you are doing

to place yourself in a better position, both in the eyes of your potential

clients and financially? Any marketing changes? Changes in product lines or even

changing the direction of your studio?

If you are a part time professional photographer please do not take offense at

my request. At one time I was a part time photographer until I took the leap of

faith and made the commitment. When you make the change you will then understand

why I made the request for full time professionals, your life will change, trust

me I know.

For those wondering what my views are, I will share them in about a week. I

don't want to share them at this time because I don't want to poision the well,

so to speak, by projecting my views. I am not looking to sucker anyone in and

then jump on their case. I would really appreciate it if we could start an

honest dialog based on what each of us is seeing our own corner of the world and

specialty. I don't want this to become a flaming session. Hopefully we can all

learn something from each other and become more enlightened professionals.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and responding. I know we all have

busy schedules and it is difficult to take time out for something like this.

Respectfully,

Charlie Laumann

I can't add to the discussion, as you say, I'm not a fulltime professional photographer, I

retired to pursue my serious part-time photography, and so I won't take offiense. But that

doesn't mean we can't add to the discussion with our experience and understanding of the