Standard print sizes from PSCS2 - possible?

Ok -

I've searched the forums and found nothing on this...I've also read through

several PS books with no resolution. I'm certain it will become very clear

that I am quite new to PS image processing, so please be paitient.

Here goes:

At just about any time in the past 30 years, I could go into a darkroom,

(either mine or otherwise), pick up an easel, set the blades to, say 11X14,

and place a 16X20 sheet of paper in the easel. I could then print an 11X14

image on a 16x20 sheet of paper. Not a difficult thing to do, even in the

dark. ;)

I'm beginning to wonder - is it even possible to print a standard size image

from PS?

My most recent attempt and an 8X10 image sized out at 6.891X10 at a resolution

of 360dpi. I'm really getting irritaed by having to work with image sizes like

this when all I want is a simple 8X10 on an 11X14 canvas - or an 11X14 on

16X20, a 16X20 on 20X24, etc. This issue is making image presentation very

difficult as I use standard sized mat boards with standard sized windows for

fine-art gallery framed and bin-art sales.

FWIW, I'm working Canon 20D RAW files (8.2mp) and scans of postives and

negatives. The prints are made at a local pro-lab.

Thanks in advance -

Bill, the Crop Tool will do what you want. If you look under Cropping Methods in the Help file you will see what it looks like - a pair of opposed set-squares. You can fix the height and width in inches, and the required ppi for the print. Then you draw the crop area over the image and hit Enter. There is a lot more that you can do with it, of course.

Best,

Helen