Square or Round?

yardkat

Hi all,

I'm thinking about updating some of my filters. I confess, I'm a terrible photographer and rarely carry my filter kit! So lazy! I have a Cokin P system and find it fiddly to use, don't enjoy it, when I do use it I get crazy flare, and so hardly every carry it with me. Truth be told, it's also kind of dated, I bought it to use R/G/B filters on BW film across multiple formats (none of which I still have), and I don't actually have a great selection of ND filters. I only have one grad and one .0.3 ND. (I do have circ polarizers also, but they're not square...)

I'm going to be buying a lens soon, and was thinking about updating my ND filters to round filters for each lens, or step up/down rings, depending on the lens. So my question for you all today is does this seem like a good plan, to move away from square filter holder? I feel like I'll carry and use the NDs more often if I just have to screw on a filter, and I'll still be able to use my lens hood which might help with the flare.

But what about grads? Do folks use grads or just blend multiple exposures?

Thanks in advance, and many apologies if this is an oft asked question...

~Julie

I think the choice really depends on what is most readily available in each format and the extent to which one in fact uses filters. Years ago I tried square but found we just didn't get along, and have used round screw on ever since. They were much more compact, which mattered for me. If you use filters a lot (I don't anymore), and what you intend to use is readily available and doesn't cost an arm & leg, go with whichever format is most comfortable for you to use. If cost of switchover is a factor, do it gradually, so you don't accumulate filters you may not frequently use.
  • Like 1