Spooling/using other film in 127 camera?

Does anyone know how to spool another type of film onto a 127

spool for a Brownie Holiday? Or, is it possible to use film from

other spools on a camera fitted to take 127 film?

The Brownie Holiday has a piece of red plastic at the back of the

camera, which the photo # is viewed through, so please advise if

I would have to cover this up from the inside, or what.

I'm interested in any (even odd or experimental) ideas that will

somehow cost me less than developing and buying 127 film at

present. I'm not a camera professional, so please put things into

plain english.

Many thanks,

David

Unfortunately there are no easy solutions. No other film readily available is the same width as 127 and if you were to consider cutting down 120 film (see http://www.toptown.com/nowhere/kypfer/120-828.htm) the numbers on the 120 backing paper may not line up exactly with the little red window in a 127 camera. For an 8-on-127 like your Holiday, it could work, but the 12-on-127 numbers are on the "wrong" side of the backing paper to correspond with 120 film.

Having made an initial purchase of some 127 film it may then be practical to cut down some 120 film and fit this to the salvaged 127 backing paper after the initial films have been processed. Unless you've got access to a reasonably co-operative and knowledgeable lab, this will probably mean processing the films yourself, both to ensure careful salvage of the original backing paper and to preclude any problems arising from the film you've fitted to the recovered backing paper not being the same as the original and the lab then processing them incorrectly, or indeed refusing to process them at all, for several valid reasons which I won't go into here.