specific question group of 14 indoors

kelly_buechlein1

<p>Background: I have sekonic 358, pocketwizards TT1/TT5, 430 canon flash and a studio max monolight with one light stand, umbrella with black and white cover.</p>

<p>I am new to lighting. I understand how to use the meter to check ambient light and then check flash to see percentage flash is putting out. So, enough I guess to be dangerous lol. <br>

So, I have a group of 14 (about 6 kids) that will take place in basement (has a larger window per client) tan walls. The picture will be in front of fireplace. So, my question is how do I keep shadows off of faces. I plan on putting them up against fireplace, so that I am guessing will help with background shadows? I will be using a 35mm lense for this shoot since I am not sure how much space I will have? <br>

So, should I just put the mono center and a few feet above tallest person in the back with light slightly tilted down? I can keep my flash on camera as well with a gary fong difusser and have it pointing up as well and maybe reduce its power if needed?<br>

Should I take ambient readings and then add the above and check meter to see the percentage? and keep checking until I have how much like 50%, 60% for this size of group. I am just worried about shadows as well as overexposing? <br>

With the fireplace I am sure there is a place to sit people in front, but how would I then position the middle. Meaning if you have people sitting in the the middle- the sides I guess could be kneeling and then kids sitting on floor in front? My point being you cant have people standing in the middle because the fireplace stoop/bench in-front going across the fireplace. Or do I have people stand in front of the fireplace not using the the fireplace seat and the have some sitting on stools across center and then people could stand in back and then layer people in front. etc. </p>

<p>So two part question.<br>

1. how to light 14 people with my equipment?</p>