Sony bodies that support Canon IS lenses questions?

mark_stephan2

If I used my Canon 24-105 and 100-400 IS lenses with a Sony a6000 or a7 would I have image stabilization from the lens? I realize these bodies do not support IBIS but they are an economical way to get into Sony's E mount system. The reason I ask is because my brother who lives 500 miles away has a friend who is selling both for a really good price. The owner only used the kit E lenses on these bodies and my brother is into guitars and music and not photography so he can't answer my questions.

Read this link.

I have no experience with that Sigma converter, since I find half the fun of owning an a6000 is being able to use almost any old manual-focus lens with it. Some of which are surprisingly good, and others......

Whatever. That Sigma converter appears to do what you want, and at half the price of a Metabones. However, it does seem to be geared towards Sigma lenses (no surprise), so maybe it only has full compatibility with Sigma firmware?

I dunno! It's worth investigating though.

Dammit Mark. I came across a Nikon to Sony-E adapter by Viltrox (no, I've never heard of 'em either!) and placed an order. It's supposed to support VR, but we'll see.

I don't know whether to thank you for prompting me to look for adapters or not. We'll see when it arrives in a few days time.:):(

There are ways to get into the Sony E-mount economically. Now if there were a way to do the same with E-mount lenses ;) I doubt that an A6000 supports IS, even with an adapter. An A6500, which has IBIS, may. You need to find out from people who have used both, or perhaps from Vello or Fotodiox, who make smart adapters.